Teams Can Now Remove Users from a Group Chat

Ejecting People From a Teams Group Chat

A group chat is a conversation in Teams between three and fifty people, which can be a mixture of tenant and guest users. Group chats can be very ad-hoc affairs or they can last for an extended period. They can be given names (a good idea to help track chats) or not.

Up to now, it has not been possible to remove someone from a group chat, meaning that if you make a mistake and add someone who shouldn’t be in a chat, the only way you could correct the mistake is to create another group chat, add all the other participants, and leave the person you want to exclude out. Obviously, this is not very efficient.

Removing Someone From a Teams Group Chat

The most recent Teams client builds (version 1.2.00.10168 and later) include the ability to remove someone from a group chat. Open the participant list and click the X beside the name of the person you want to remove. Figure 1 shows the user interface for the desktop and browser client while Figure 2 shows how to do the same thing with the iOS client.

Selecting someone to remove from a Teams group chat
Figure 1: Selecting someone to remove from a Teams group chat
How to remove someone from a Teams group chat using the iOS client
Figure 2: How to remove someone from a Teams group chat using the iOS client

After someone is removed, they still have access to all the messages sent up to the point when they were removed. However, they can no longer send messages (Figure 3).

Old messages are visible, but the removed participant can't send any more messages
Figure 3: Old messages are visible, but the removed participant can’t send any more messages

Correcting Mistakes

If you make a mistake and remove someone whom you shouldn’t have, you can correct the error by adding them back to the group chat (Figure 4), making sure to include all chat history so the newly-rejoined person doesn’t lose out on any information that’s been shared in the chat.

Adding someone to a Teams group chat
Figure 4: Adding someone to a Teams group chat (and specifying what chats they can see)

You can play games with removing and adding a person. For example, you could remove someone, make some horrible remarks about them, and then rejoin them to the chat but make sure not to include any chat history. The rejoined individual can see all the messages sent in the chat before they were removed and those sent after they rejoined, but not the offensive ones in the middle. They might guess that something happened by looking at the notes of additions and removals Teams records when people join and leave a group chat, but they might not.

Group Chats Not Owned by Anyone

Remember that Teams regards group chats as being equally owned by the participants. Anyone can remove someone from a group chat and anyone can add someone to a group chat. It’s all very democratic.


Need to know more about how to use Teams? Read Chapter 13 of the Office 365 for IT Pros eBook. The chapter in the latest update is 90 pages long (in the PDF edition). We must have some useful information there!

Advertisements

One Reply to “Teams Can Now Remove Users from a Group Chat”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.